US Human Rights Network Blog

US Human Rights Network Blog

 

 

Upcoming UPR Advocacy Opportunities

Jan 9, 2020

The US Human Rights Network invites you to participate in several advocacy opportunities for the Universal Periodic Review this month.

1) Consultations with Permanent Missions and Embassies in NYC and Washington, D.C.

If you are able to travel to New York City or Washington D.C. this month, please consider attending one of our key consultations with Permanent Missions and Embassies. These consultations will be led by UPR Task Force Co-Chair Josh Cooper and are an excellent opportunity for you to speak directly with officials from other countries who will be present at the Review of the United States in May, to advocate for your community or issue area. For those who are unable to attend in person, we will keep you informed regarding potential remote attendance opportunities. Learn more and register via: www.upr2020.org. 

Click here to register for Consultation #1 in New York City
Click here to register for Consultation #2 in Washington, D.C.

2) UPR Webinar #9 

Ahead of the consultations in NYC and Washington, D.C., join UPR Task Force Co-Chairs Mary Gerisch and Josh Cooper to prepare for the consultations on January 17, at 2pm ET (11am PT, 1pm CT). 

Click here to register for UPR Webinar #9.

3) Geneva Coordination
If you plan on attending the Review in Geneva this May, please fill out this form. USHRN will be in touch regarding coordination in the coming months.

4) The #TellTheWorld Art Competition is accepting submissions through January 21.

You do not have to have written a stakeholder report or been otherwise involved in the UPR process to date in order to submit a photo or other artwork that represents a human rights violation in your community, or community response to the violation. Your work will be featured in the USHRN Human Rights Report, and will be shared during the Consultations in NYC and Washington, D.C. later this month.