US Human Rights Network Blog

US Human Rights Network Blog

 

 

You’re Invited! Join us for a Black Lives Matter healing event

Aug 6, 2020

We are honored and excited to invite you to join the US Human Rights Network, the Jordan Davis Foundation, Donkeysaddle Projects, and the Mamie Till Mobley Memorial Foundation on August 22 for a Black Lives Matter event: Who Were They? An Era of Untold Stories from Emmett Till to George Floyd.


Saturday, August 22, 2020

11am - 2pm PST

1pm - 4pm CST

2pm - 5pm EST


REGISTER


Too often Black people like Breonna Taylor, George Floyd, and Ahmaud Arbery are remembered for their tragic and untimely murders (and are often villainized), but the full lives they lived with their families, friends, and communities are not given attention by the media or the public. Our event will focus on the lives of slain Black people while they were living, and on the ongoing healing work needed in their communities by providing an opportunity for their family members to tell their favorite stories about them, while grounding the conversation in a human rights lens and a call-to-action to affirm that Black Lives Matter. We welcome our event moderator Carmen Perez-Jordan and life coach and spiritual leader Damon Azali-Rojas who will hold a safe and healing space. 


We are honored and humbled to be joined by Cephus Johnson, uncle of Oscar Grant, Wanda Cooper-Jones, mother of Ahmaud Arbery, Michael Brown Sr., father of Michael Brown Jr., LaVerne Bartee, family member of Emmett Till, Martinez Sutton, brother of Rekia Boyd, and our event partner Ron Davis, father of Jordan Davis and founder of the Jordan Davis Foundation. Please stay tuned as we continue to share information with you in the coming weeks on the artists and family members who will participate to share stories of their loved ones as they lived.


Please mark your calendars and register to join this special community healing event.