US Human Rights Network Blog

US Human Rights Network Blog

 

 

Who Were They? Join Black artists, cultural workers, and family members this Saturday

Aug 18, 2020

We are excited to share an update with you on this coming Saturday’s virtual Black Lives Matter healing event, Who Were They? An Era of Untold Stories from Emmett Till to George Floyd.


The US Human Rights Network & The Jordan Davis Foundation are honored to be joined by the following family members, cultural workers, healers, and artists on August 22nd at 11:00am PST / 2:00pm EST:

  • Ron Davis, father of Jordan Davis, event co-host and CEO of The Jordan Davis Foundation
  • Wanda Cooper-Jones, mother of Ahmaud Arbery
  • Shante Needham, sister of Sandra Bland
  • Michael Brown Sr., father of Mike Brown Jr.
  • Gwen Carr, mother of Eric Garner
  • Martinez Sutton, brother of Rekia Boyd
  • Cephus Johnson, Uncle of Oscar Grant
  • William and Valerie Bell, parents of Sean Bell
  • LaVerne Bartee, representing Ollie Gordon, cousin of Emmett Till
  • Carmen Perez-Jordan, event host/moderator and President of The Gathering for Justice
  • Damon Azali-Rojas, event healer and Founder of Coaching for Healing and Non-Violence
  • Salimah Hankins, event co-host and Interim Executive Director of the US Human Rights Network
  • Gina Belafonte, Executive Director of Sankofa 
  • Jamilah Lemieux, writer/cultural critic
  • Sequoiia, artist
  • Tiombé Lockhart, artist
  • Vivianne A. Njoku, artist
  • LaFrae Sci a.k.a Frae-Frae: Daughter of Drexciya, artist

Saturday, August 22, 2020

11am - 2pm PST

1pm - 4pm CST

2pm - 5pm EST


REGISTER


Please join the US Human Rights Network and The Jordan Davis Foundation on August 22 for a virtual event, Who Were They? An Era of Untold Stories from Emmett Till to George Floyd. The event will be an opportunity for family members who have lost their loved ones to police and racial violence to speak in loving community about their loved ones as they lived. Too often Black people like Breonna Taylor, George Floyd, and Ahmaud Arbery are remembered for their tragic and untimely murders (and are often villainized), but the full lives they lived with their families, friends, and communities are not given attention by the media or the public. Join us in changing this narrative today, because #BlackStoriesMatter.


When you share the event on your channels, please be sure to include the event hashtags: #BeyondTheHashtag, #BlackStoriesMatter and #BlackVoicesBlackStories!


Please mark your calendars and register to join this special community healing event.